A Beautiful Life

Something about the holidays makes me romanticize day-to-day life like no other time of the year. In truth, our life looks a lot like this pretty much year round. And yet, there’s something about this season that makes it all seem much more magical to me.

nmHFcD4OKKKer9Cs.jpg

Oh trust me, the less-than-wonderful aspects are still here. Just last night, Jax was awake from 11:30 to 3:30am – something he hasn’t really done in a long time. And then Jaylee was up at 5:00am wanting to go eat cereal. It was a long night. And yet, she was just so dang sweet at 5:00am. Asking “where’s Jaxton?” and “where’s Daddy?” and “bye-bye choo choo train!”. Truly, it is really easy to see the wonderful in the mundane at this time of the year.

TRhxB0KANrmzyT4b.jpg

It has been snowing a lot these past couple of days, and so we’ve stayed in our pjs and just hung around the house. Lots of playing with trains, and dolls, and all kinds of new and old Christmas presents. During the Great Christmas Toy Purge, we moved a bunch of toys up from the family room into her bedroom. Which, in toddler-speak, means that she basically got cool new toys! Toys she hasn’t touched in months are suddenly her most treasured item. And she constantly comes to grab my hand and say “lets play doll house!”.

After arranging the doll house items in this way, she said "Its perfect!"

After arranging the doll house items in this way, she said “Its perfect!”

And while she arranges all the dolls in their “perfect!” locations, Jax sits around and eats some blocks. So basically, everybody wins.

UkKAiugsQ5sFzBJz.jpg

I wish I could be better about seeing these magical moments as they occur all throughout the year. I know they’re always happening, and its more of a matter of opening my own eyes to see the wonderful in front of me. Every situation can be seen as half-empty or half-full, and I want to come by the half-full perspective naturally at ALL times of the year.

Example: I can get annoyed at Jaylee pushing all the settings buttons on the swing. Or I can smile and go along for the ride, like Jax.

Example: I can get annoyed at Jaylee pushing all the settings buttons and turning on the annoying music on the swing. Or I can smile and go along for the ride, like Jax.

Jordan tends to be a lot better at this than me. He’s had to go out and shovel the driveway several times in the last 24 hours because it just started snowing and hasn’t stopped. The wind chill is below 0, the roads are slick, and its really hard to do simple chores like taking out the trash or having all the curtains open to let in the light (and not the cold). But when Jaylee wanted to go with him to shovel the drive, he just bundled her up and went! I was totally prepared to say no and face the ensuing meltdown. Luckily, I married the kind of man who will say “yes” at a lot of times when I just want to take the easier route and say “no”.

All bundled up with her "baby shovel"

All bundled up with her “baby shovel”

Following Daddy's example

Following Daddy’s example

Carving her own path

Carving her own path

I tend to think of myself as a generally positive person. But this time of year, the constant rosy attitude just comes more easily and naturally. Perhaps is the magic of the season. Perhaps it the idea of a new year and fresh start. Perhaps someone added something to my coffee.

Playing trains with my girl

Playing trains with my girl

Whatever it is, I want to capture it and bottle it up and sprinkle it on myself all year. If only I knew how to do that.

Jax loves a nice warm sink bath!

Jax loves a nice warm sink bath!

But here’s to trying! To trying to see the magical moments that happen every day. To thinking less about the chores (oh, the laundry!), and more about the little growing minds. Less about the failures, and more about playing trains and dolls and blocks. Less about setting limits on screen time, and more about dancing around the living room to ANOTHER round of “Christmas Monkey”.

My babies are growing up so quickly right before my eyes, and I want to be able to look back at this time to see cherished memories instead of regrets. So I’m going to do my best to carry this “Christmas spirit” through into the new year and make it part of my person.

About Jodi

Just a regular girl, piecing together life as I see it.
This entry was posted in Jaxton, Jaylee, Motherhood and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

