Back to Real Life

Well, today was my first day back to the regular old schedule with work. That alarm clock rang aweful early today. And the kids (and staff) didn’t really want to be there, so teaching was like pulling teeth. I’m sure it’ll get better over the course of the week as everybody gets back in the groove, myself included. And I’ve got a new seating chart for tomorrow that will help. But it sure wasn’t fun having to go back to the real world after a wonderful holiday time where got to spend all our minutes with our little family, and extended family.

Jaylee and Auntie Jessie

Jaylee and Auntie Jessie

But enough about work – that’s no fun to write about or read about. Luckily, today is also this little man’s 7 month birthday.

IMG_0931

Its hard to believe that he’s already 7 months old. Everyday he looks a bit more like a little boy, and less like a baby. It makes me so happy and so sad all at the same time. And he’s CONSTANTLY reaching for things.

Give me that phone!

Give me that phone!

Tonight he was taking a bath in the kitchen sink because dinner had gotten a bit messy. Jaylee didn’t notice at first (she was watching Color Crew on my phone). But when she did notice, she came over and was standing on her tippy toes to see what was going on in the sink. So I picked her up so she could see, and she immediately said “I go splash-splash too!”. So this happened.

IMG_0956

They were just so dang cute playing together in the kitchen sink. I kept saying it was time for Jaxton to go to bed, and Jaylee kept saying “He no go night-night. He’s got 5 minutes. He go splash splash too.” She really wanted him to stay and play with her. And they were just having such a ball pouring water back and forth. It really made this rather-crummy back-to-work day much much better. These are the kind of moments I told myself I’d look out for, and I’m going to cherish this one for a very long time.

Lucky we’ve got a deep sink!

About Jodi

Just a regular girl, piecing together life as I see it.
This entry was posted in Jaxton, Jaylee, teaching. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Back to Real Life

  1. oursonnylife says:

    I just got caught up! I’m sorry you are struggling with working/being a full-time mama. But you are doing AMAZING, just the fact you are worried about it means you are doing the best job for your babies. They are so lucky to have you. I love the bath in the sink photo-I used to put the boys like that and then clean the kitchen-haha:) love you guys!! xoxo

Leave a Reply

