Future Ponderings

So I was thinking today about the future, and what I’d really like it to look like. Of course, I don’t have a lot of control over the distant future, or even tomorrow. And so many of my desires are warring anyway.

35RkmbTkPJWIO7qI.jpg

I know that Jordan and I want to be debt free and managing our money wisely so that we can help our kids get the right start in life, just as our parents have helped us.

nDgDwPVyI7KEyM8I.jpg

In my dreams, Jordan and I would own a home somewhere tropical, where we’d live like we were on vacation every day. Beautiful oceans, beautiful mountains, laid back living. And then we’d also have a home (perhaps a tiny house!) in the US, hopefully right near our kids and their families. I’d love to be able to be a part of my grandchildren’s lives. To get to see my babies become parents, and participate in the spoiling of their babies.

YHrWdUl9NxC3o3GM.jpg

But obviously, those two dreams are in direct contrast to each other. I can’t simultaneously be away and traveling the world, while also getting to be an everyday part of my babies and grand babies’ lives. Assuming they want me to be that close anyway. 🙂

There’s a lot of things that are uncertain about the future for our little family of four. Its hard to dream of a wonderfully happy future with so much uncertainty. I wish I could say that I have firm faith that everything will turn out okay, but I know it doesn’t always work out that way. So while I’m trying to enjoy dreaming about our future, I know we’re going to have to pass through a pretty big storm to get there. And I’m wondering if we’ll make it.

d1fO1EmlgHeSm3Pt.jpg

But in the mean time, there are definitely wonderful things about where we are right now. We’re not out of debt, but we get to enjoy our babies. For example, Jaxton received this light-up stars projector that is supposed to sing babies to sleep while putting stars on the ceiling for Christmas. But Jaylee has decided that it is 100% hers, which leads to views like this over the baby monitor.

The blue glow is from the stars projector

The blue glow is from the stars projector

Jaxton is SO CLOSE to being able to crawl – he works on it pretty much all the time. Right now, he’s been able to successfully scoot his legs to move forward, but he hasn’t yet figured out how to move his hands. So he always has to flop down into “beached whale” mode. He’ll have it figured out really soon.

i9s0XKgynYzSmbD2.jpg

Crawling is usually targeted at mommy

Jordan and I decided it was time to scratch the home-improvement itch once again. I’ve been slowly working my way through the house, decluttering and organizing as I go. One of the places I needed to hit was the laundry room, which had this big overflowing shelf of JUNK (some of it laundry-related). We’d been talking about installing laundry room cabinets in order to provide more storage and hide a lot of the junk on the shelf.

Cute little babies riding the car shopping cart

Cute little babies riding the car shopping cart

So we took the kids and went off to various home improvement stores in search of some white cabinets. You’d think that’d be easy to find, but we had to go to several stores before we found ones that were in white. Installation went (relatively) smoothly, which was a nice surprise. The laundry room looks a lot nicer now, and it was nice to get a home improvement project done in one day.

The finished project

The finished project, minus door pulls

Its so nice to see the progress in our house as I work through all of our junk and get rid a of a lot of our things. Its a slow process, but it makes me feel good. I’m slowly working towards my future dream of what this house could look like. Hopefully I’ll arrive at that place before we get the itch to sell and move. 🙂

About Jodi

Just a regular girl, piecing together life as I see it.
This entry was posted in Jaxton, Jaylee, Marriage. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

