A Glimpse into the Future!

I have been home from work the last two days so that I could watch and love on my kids while my mom (our normal daycare) recovers from her surgery and my mother-in-law (our other normal daycare) travels to visit family. And its been a fantastic couple of days.

Ignore the toys and pull things out of the cabinet!

Ignore the toys and pull things out of the cabinet!

Its given me a glimpse of what summer is going to be like once school is finally over for the year. 14ish days left, baby!

Little bird!

Little bird!

Of course, midway through summer I’m probably going to be itching to go back to work. Because that’s how I do. I both abhor change and long for it. Because I just can’t ever be happy. 🙂

I live life on the edge!!

I live life on the edge!!

I also realized that I am not the kind of person who can just hang around the house for hours and days on end. I do best when we have fun things to do to help entertain the kiddos. So I’m going to have to get on some kind of rotating schedule of things to do with the kids this summer. But a relaxed one. Because I’m also the kind of person who balks at a continuously too-full schedule.

Watching for the orange ball container to fill up and drop!

Watching for the orange ball container to fill up and drop!

They're coming!

They’re coming!

On the list of things-to-do will definitely be the Children’s Museum of Denver. We love this place. And Jax has started crawling since the last time we came, so he had a grand olde time crawling around the exploring.

Tunnel!

Tunnel!

Running with baby brother

Running with baby brother

No three-hour-tours allowed for this little guy!

No three-hour-tours allowed in this boat!

But then of course, he also just wanted to ride on my hip for a while.

In the bubble box, with Jax on my hip

In the bubble box, with Jax on my hip

We went to the mall last weekend to try to get another “Jessie shirt” for Jaylee. She’s really into Toy Story right now, and she requests to wear her cowgirl Jessie shirt pretty much every day. Its a fight when that shirt is dirty. So we decided to get a backup. But apparently the Disney story is closed for remodeling, which really threw a huge wrench in our mall plans. But we did get to see the Americana tour, where some lego Master Builders (yes, that’s a real thing – not just from the movie) built scale models of each of the major buildings in our nation. They were super cool, large, and very detailed. The Lincoln Memorial actually had a Lincoln sitting inside. Very fun.

That whole building is actually made of legos. And extends in both directions

That whole building is actually made of legos. And extends in both directions

Me and a well-dressed man on lego Capital Hill

Me and a well-dressed man on lego Capital Hill. My favorite part of this photo is the kid in the background doing what every. single. kid. in the mall was doing – ducking the ropes. 

I got to add a punch to my I’m-an-awesome-mom card when I took the kids to the grocery store by myself today. Jaylee is not exactly obedient, so its really hard to go to the grocery store even when both Jordan and I are there! But I bribed her to ride in the cart by letting her watch videos on my phone, and was able to get some shopping done. Normally we have Walmart deliver our groceries, but I forgot to order a crucial ingredient for a meal I was taking to a mom with a new baby today, so I had to head over there myself. But everyone survived and I only got a couple stink-eyes (which, to be fair, would happen even if I was alone – why are some people so grumpy???). And I had two little old ladies stop to tell me how cute my kids were. I’m awesome!

And we saw a whole big display of these, which remind me of my precious nephew Trek

And we saw a whole big display of these, which remind me of my precious nephew Trek

About Jodi

Just a regular girl, piecing together life as I see it.
This entry was posted in Family Fun, Jaxton, Jaylee, Motherhood. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Glimpse into the Future!

  1. Cassi says:

    You are a rock star mama. We will have to hang out when school is out.

Leave a Reply

