A Wonderful Weekend

It has been quite the weekend around these parts. Both babies had birthdays, and my brother and his family came in to town as a pit-stop of sorts on their move from Oklahoma to Oregon.

Jax and Jay!

Jax and Jay!

nEVREKKX0gWisnyY.jpg

“Let’s go see what happened in daddy’s room!” I love that the bathroom is “daddy’s room”

We spent a good portion of the weekend working on our master bathroom remodel. We’re now into the tiling phase. So we’re still at least 3 weeks out from this project being done. But we’re moving along at a leisurely, non-stressed pace.

Another wonderful thing about living so close to all your extended family is the free babysitting that allows us to actually get these house projects done! I don’t think we’d be able to do it without them.

A rare moment of sibling love

A rare moment of sibling love

All the dinosaurs get to eat cereal at Grams' house!

All the dinosaurs get to eat cereal at Grams’ house!

Jaylee and Jax always have such a fun time when they go over to see their Grams or the Gee-ma. It warms my heart every time. There’s something magical about seeing the people who raised you as they love on your babies.

Watching as the active people play some tennis!

Watching as the active people play some tennis! Jax is all about his Pop-Pop these days.

The kids and I try to do something fun pretty much every single day. It helps me because I don’t constantly watch the clock. And it helps them because we get to do fun and active things! Some of our favorites have been Jumpoline:

Wonderfully un-crowded on weekdays before school is out!

Wonderfully un-crowded on weekdays before school is out!

Playdates with friends! This photo is from my Mom’s Club Book Club. I love how a group of moms can sit and have a deep and philosophical discussion about a book we all read, while simultaneously disciplining, wiping noses, and drinking pretend tea. If someone gets interrupted, someone else just picks up the thought. And then missing party returns and continues without missing a beat. Its awesome.

ZI1GrJBI5RicC7jZ.jpg

Working a puzzle with friends

We also are heavy users-and-abusers of the public library. There are always kids Jaylee’s age that are there, and she runs around and plays with them. And the library hold shelf insists on fulfilling my library book holds incredibly quickly – which means I also have to pick up the pace of my reading. But I love getting to sit down with my book every evening to relax. I’m currently reading a book called “In the Kingdom of Ice”, a nonfiction book about the USS Jeannette’s expedition to find the North Pole.

eeQcBSV9MS0WmbLA.jpg

Playing with the beads!

 

I am a bit ridiculous with my library book loans. I returned 3 books today that I had finished this week, and they already had 4 more sitting on the hold shelf for me. And then on my way out, I saw a very popular book on the Express Fiction shelf. I’m number 234 in line for this book on the hold list, but I still contemplated grabbing it from the Express Fiction and checking it out. I’m truly ridiculous. Thankfully I resisted, because I have plenty of books to read. But this is what I mean about using-and-abusing the library.

Another favorite place to hang out is Little Monkey Business in Parker. They have a cute little “crawler” area for the little kids. Though of course, Jax only wants to be out where the big kids are (and ironically, parents are always having to come into the crawler area and kick out their big kids!)

Painting a picture at Monkey Business!

Painting a picture at Monkey Business!

Plus the store often orders in some pizza and then sells it by the slice! Perfect for hungry babies and mommies!

Plus the store often orders in some pizza and then sells it by the slice! Perfect for hungry babies and mommies!

And then sometimes, we just hang out at home. Jaylee has recently taken to hugging her baby brother, despite his feelings on the matter. Its just so dang cute.

Sometimes hugs look more like tackles...

Sometimes hugs look more like tackles…

We’ve been a regular at the Apple store in the mall recently, because Jordan was having some issues with his phone. So while we hang out at the mall as they repair/replace his phone, Jaylee usually gets a fun toy from the Disney Store and plays a little bit on the small play place they have.

Line up the princesses!

Line up the princesses!

And to cap off our busy weekend, the kids got to open their birthday presents at home on Sunday, because poor Jax has been pretty sick. Jax mostly got money in his college fund, but Jaylee is definitely old enough to appreciate some physical presents. Wrapped in Christmas wrapping paper, of course.

AQvUg3VpcKCMxus8.jpg

Jaylee's new Glitzi Globe play set! She's been watching youtube videos featuring this toy, and knew exactly what it was as soon as she saw the logo. She also didn't need the instruction book, even though her mom and dad did!

Jaylee’s new Glitzi Globe play set! She’s been watching youtube videos featuring this toy, and knew exactly what it was as soon as she saw the logo. She also didn’t need the instruction book, even though her mom and dad did!

Cheers to birthday donuts!

Cheers to birthday donuts!

Phew! What an end to a week! Hopefully this next week will be just as fun, if a bit slower due to my sick little baby. But when I sit down to write this little journal entry of mine, it definitely reflects how very blessed we are!

Life is awesome!

About Jodi

Just a regular girl, piecing together life as I see it.
This entry was posted in Extended Family, Family Fun, Holidays, Jaxton, Jaylee. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Wonderful Weekend

  1. Cassi says:

    Sounds like a blast. Elisha and Zeke have been asking to play with Jaylee and Jax ever since I promised then had to cancel last minute so we definitely need to get together when Jax feels better!

Leave a Reply

