Jack of All Trades

I’ve been thinking recently about all the different hats that I wear on a day to day basis. Sometimes it can be a bit overwhelming. And sometimes, I think that it is what I thrive on.

Wife
Mother
Housekeeper
Chef (or at least, line cook)
Teacher
Student
Playdate Organizer
Friend
Reader
Playmate
Home Renovator
Runner
Counselor
Party Planner
Daughter
Laundress

And that’s the short list. How do I keep all these things balanced? Recently, my housekeeping has been taking a bit of a hit. I know that Jordan and my kids don’t really care, but it bothers me and makes me feel like I’m letting down my family.

ZCtMa6mmOacUlfxc.jpg

I (re)started my masters program yesterday, and it has obviously been a while since I’ve been in school. My first assignment was to write a two-to-three page paper, and I just about died when I saw that I only had a week to do it.

loqkZ03pWdORL2az.jpg

Now, I have a degree in history. I can crank out some papers. And by the time I did the reading and sat down to write an outline (thank you high school English teachers!), I realized it wasn’t going to be so bad. My outline is  whole page long, and doesn’t even include complete sentences. I can definitely turn it into a two-to-three page paper.

IssFsIR6CvRm4FNT.jpg

But I’ve had to devote some of my zealously guarded nap times to this kind of stuff, and I’m feeling a bit lame-o about it. I want to be a better teacher. I want the pay raise. I want my masters degree. But I don’t want to have to spend any of my precious TIME to do it!

a6HO3vDvUGOrulEX.jpg

Basically, I want my cake and to eat it too. And in my mental arguments for why I shouldn’t have to spend any of my precious nap time to get this work done, I starting making a list of all the things I DO on a day-to-day basis. Ever want to feel unappreciated and dissatisfied? Make a list like that.

rFrOdac6yFn8oKQ2.jpg

Instead, I need to focus again on the things that matter. I may not have a lot of free time, but my babies will not be babies for very long. I may not want to write papers and read educational stuff, but the pay raise will help provide for my family. I may not want to think about being a teacher during the summer, but I love my job and wouldn’t ever choose anything else.

Positivity. Positivity is the name of the game.

About Jodi

Just a regular girl, piecing together life as I see it.
This entry was posted in Motherhood, teaching. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Jack of All Trades

  1. Ina Library says:

    You’re so right! Positivity is e name of the game! It is so amazing and admirable that you are going back to get your masters degree!! Wearing so many different hats as a mom AND trying to be a student is soooo challenging! I will pray that you have the patience, support, and strength you need through the whole journey! I remember having a breakdown in my second week of my masters program and two years later, when I finished, I laughed about it because it went by so fast!! You can do it!! I am looking forward to reading more and i will continue to cheer you on!! You can do it, mama!! Feel free to cry and scream and have a glass of wine with your homework!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

