Sickness sucks!

It’s been quite the week around here. I saw this quote and had to internalize it to keep me going for this week.

1/19/17

We’ve been sick.

1/16/17

And its hard when one kid is sick, because it doesn’t mean the rest of us have any less energy. So we brought out the trusty old bouncy-bouncy to try to burn off some of that energy on our second day of house arrest.

1/16/17

It was somewhat effective. Poor Jaylee got off her sickbed for 30 seconds to come jump, then announced she “needed a break” and went back to lay on the couch. I felt so sorry for her. And of course, its not as much fun to jump without your BFF. So Jax had a rough time of it too.

1/16/17

This sickness was some sort of fever-cough-running nose bug. Jaylee is the only one who’s gotten the fever so far, but we’ve all had coughing and energy issues.

Jaylee wanted to write  letter to her cousins Peyton and Conner to tell them she was sick, but they could come to our house another day

Jaylee wanted to write letter to her cousins Peyton and Conner to tell them she was sick, but they could come to our house another day

Luckily, this sweet little guy didn’t seem to get the bug. Sick infants are the absolute worst. There’s no medicine you can give them, and mommy’s milk doesn’t heal fast enough for mommy’s liking. So I’m thankful that he’s avoided this bug, magically.

1/13/17

Once Jaylee was back to feeling better, its been a pretty standard week around here. But her being down for a couple days made me realize how much she and Jax really do play together. They’re best friends – and sometimes mortal enemies.

1/14/17

1/13/17

1/20/17

For my special time with Jace last week, we went to a baby-wearing dance class. It was a lot of fun, though he slept through almost the entire thing. I got a nice workout, and we got to enjoy lots of sleeping snuggles and kisses. Good times!

Diaper changes on the dance floor

Diaper changes on the dance floor

Since I’ve gone back to work, its been a lot harder to still have the energy by the end of the day for special reading time. Its really important to me, but I’m just exhausted by the end of the day. Thankfully, parenting is a team-gig.

1/13/17

But the thing about special book reading time is that it is sometimes too stimulating, and you just don’t want to go to sleep afterward.

1/18/17

We’re still working on that. 🙂

Jace is getting so big. He’s grown out of a fair number of his clothes. And since he’s the last Ingram baby, I’ve started to offload them to consignment stores, donation places, and people we know who can use the hand-me-downs. But its an emotional process. I’ve saved special outfits from each of my kids with the idea that they may one day want those for their own children. But let’s be honest – its very rare that people actually do want them. And I’ve saved waaaaaaaaaay more outfits than can be considered reasonable.

1/20/17

Even so, as I part ways with the tiny newborn and 0-3 outfits from my last baby, its a bit more emotional than I’d like to admit. I almost cried after the consignment store called with details about the clothes we dropped off – it became real that I’d never have a need for those tiny outfits again.

1/21/17

Don’t get me wrong, Jace has completed our family. And I love watching him get older and more expressive (this no-sleep stage is ROUGH). But its been more bitter than I had expected in the bittersweet.

Jaylee decided this week that she really wanted to get her face painted. We have a family membership at the aquarium, and they conveniently do face painting. So we scheduled a fun family day down at the aquarium, and invited my sister and her family to come along with us.

1/21/17

It was a fun day. Jaylee got Dora the Explorer painted on her face, which completed the quest we had come for. We also got to see a cute little armadillo – which I’d never seen up close and personal before (other than dead on the side of the road). I didn’t get any pictures, but it was really cool to see. The kids even got to pet it. Armadillos have such a funny way of walking – its like a real-life Pokemon.

After that, we just had fun looking at all the fish!

1/21/17

1/21/17

1/21/17

I was so proud of her for touching the starfish! And for informing Uncle Bucky that starfish do not have bones (how does she know that?)

I was so proud of her for touching the starfish! And for informing Uncle Bucky that starfish do not have bones (how does she know that?)

Our membership comes with passes to feed the stingrays, and apparently the biggest one tried to give my sister a hug during the feeding. I missed out on that exciting event, because I was busy being the biggest softie ever:

1/21/17

He did actually like it - he was just crying because the chair wasn't in his preferred location

He did actually like it – he was just crying because the chair wasn’t in his preferred location

Our memberships also come with passes to see the 4D movie each time, and fortunately they were showing an Ice Age short this time! Jax LOVES Ice Age. Jace fell asleep shortly after the armadillo experience, and slept through the entire thing until we got to the snack shack at the end. So he was awake, and I didn’t want to take him into the 4D theater because I didn’t think he’s do very well. So we hung out outside.

Not complaining - it was a pretty sweet gig

Not complaining – it was a pretty sweet gig

Hopefully this next week will be a bit easier. No more sickness please! Till next time, stay classy friends.

1/20/17

About Jodi

Just a regular girl, piecing together life as I see it.
This entry was posted in Family Fun, Jace, Jaxton, Jaylee. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

