Rough Week

So we’re officially into the 4-month growth spurt/sleep regression/nonsense.

2/27/17

On one hand, this is one of my favorite ages. Jace is super smily and has started to really belly laugh – usually at his siblings. He loves to pull his legs up to his chest and try to remove socks from his feet, and can someone use these moves to spin himself 180 degrees from where you lay him. He’s not rolling over yet, but he does enjoy sitting in his high chair while we eat a meal and grabbing at things on the table in front of him. He also has discovered that my watch is in easy reach while I’m carrying him, and he is constantly changing the settings.

2/26/17

But on the flip side, he doesn’t sleep. Like, at all. Naps are a challenge, and he’s up every hour at night. All the old tricks that used to comfort him aren’t good enough anymore. And to top it all off, he had to get another round of shots at his four-month appointment. So its been a rough couple of days around here. I pretty much lost my mind yesterday because Jordan was having illness issues, the kids were all crazy, and I hadn’t slept more than 2 or 3 hours at night. I couldn’t get Jace to stop crying, and I ended up just getting in the van and driving. I can’t just let things drop off my plate, because it doesn’t actually go away – only builds (like the pile of 1.5 week old unit tests sitting next to me that need grading). A full night of sleep would do me wonders, but I haven’t had one of those since October. This four-month thing is a season, but its a dang hard one. While also beautiful in its own ways.

3/5/17

I’m only three weeks away from Spring Break. So if I can hunker down and bear it, there is a warmer season on the horizon. But its a challenge for sure.

2/26/17

Apparently the entire Peppa family also wanted to watch cartoons on the iPad.

About Jodi

Just a regular girl, piecing together life as I see it.
This entry was posted in Jace, Motherhood. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

